ABCP 2021 Annual Conference

Basic Information

Venue: online on Zoom (dial-in information will be released as part of the program below)
Dates: Friday 2nd & Saturday 3rd July, 2021

Free Online Registration

As an online conference, the Association decided to make the Conference free for all to attend. Depending on how many people will register and the limited seats of the online conferencing system we will use (Zoom), we may have to limit participation to speakers, panelists, special guests, ABCP members, invited participants and those who register for the Conference earlier. To register for the Conference, please use the following link:

2021 ABCP Annual Conference Free Registration


Day 1: Friday 2nd July 2021

  • 9-10am: (Zoom link) Open ceremony and invited keynote talks, chaired by Professor Max Lu AO DL FREng FMCAS FAA FTSE FTWAS, President & Vice-Chancellor of University of Surrey, Co-Chairman of ABCP’s International Advisory Board
    • Professor Jianguo Lin (林建国教授) FREng, President of ABCP, Professor in Mechanics of Materials Division of Imperial College London
    • Lord John Browne FRS FREng, Member of House of Lords, Executive Chairman of L1 Energy, Former President of Royal Academy of Engineering (2006-2011), Chairman of ABCP’s International Advisory Board
    • Professor Sir Jim McDonald FREng, President of Royal Academy of Engineering, Principal & Vice-Chancellor of University of Strathclyde
    • Professor Julia Buckingham CBE FRSB, President of Universities UK, President & Vice-Chancellor of Brunel University London
    • Professor Richard Williams OBE FREng FRSE FTSE FIChemE FIMMM, Principal & Vice-Chancellor of Heriot-Watt University, Former Vice-President of Royal Academy of Engineering
  • 10-11am: Coffee/tea and networking break
  • 11am-12:30pm: (Zoom link) UK-China HEI Forum, chaired by Professor Yi-Ke Guo FREng MAE, Vice-President for International Academic Affairs of ABCP, Founding Director of Data Science Institute of Imperial College London, Vice-President (Research & Development) of Hong Kong Baptist University
  • 12:30-1pm: Lunch break
  • After 1pm: Parallel Thematic Sessions

Day 2: Saturday 3rd July 2021

Parallel sessions split into four thematic tracks: Artificial Intelligence (AI), Advanced Manufacturing, Energy, and Medicine. If you are interested in presenting your research or contributing to any of the above tracks, please contact the corresponding Track Chair:

  • 10am-12:30pm: Annual General Meeting (AGM) of ABCP members, chaired by Professor Daqing Ma (马大青教授) FRCA, Vice-President & General Secretary of ABCP, Professor of Anaesthesia of Imperial College London
    • 10-10:30am: ABCP Work Review (by ABCP Standing Management Committee)
      • Daqing Ma: Brief introduction
      • Hongming Xu: Membership
      • Hongbiao Dong: Industrial collaboration and fund raising
      • Shujun Li: Publicity and collaboration
      • Jihong Wang: Finance
      • Jianguo Lin: Overall Summary, President report, and introduction to the new governance body ABCP Council
    • 10:30-11am: Q&A and discussions
    • 11am-12:30pm: Member-facing training session (details to be announced) + Q&A and discussions
  • 12:30-1pm: Lunch break and networking
  • After 1pm: Parallel Thematic Sessions (continuation from Day 1)
    • Medicine, chaired by Professor Daqing Ma (马大青教授), Imperial College London
      • Topics: Biology; basic medical science research; translational medical research; health/ageing; cognitive science
      • Detailed programme (Zoom link)
    • Ageing Society and Sustainability, chaired by Dr Wen Wang (汪文博士), University of Wolverhampton
      • Topics: Socio-technical research, innovation and education in emerging areas such as ageing society and public health
      • Detailed programme (Zoom link)

Organising Committee

General Chair

Professor Jianguo Lin (林建国教授) FREng FEurASC: President of ABCP; Professor in Mechanics of Materials Division, Imperial College London

Chair of Organising Committee

Professor Hongming Xu (徐宏明教授): Vice-President for Policy & Membership of ABCP; Chair in Energy and Automotive Engineering, University of Birmingham

Organising Committee

Professor Yi-Ke Guo (郭毅可教授) FREng MAE: Vice-President for International Academic Affairs of ABCP; Professor of Computing Science, Imperial College London; Vice-President (Research and Development), Hong Kong Baptist University (Chair for UK-China HEI Forum)
Professor Sai Gu (顾赛教授): Executive Vice President of ABCP; Deputy Pro Vice Chancellor (China), University of Warwick
Professor Daqing Ma (马大青教授): Vice-President & General Secretary of ABCP; Professor of Anaesthesia, Imperial College London (Track Chair for Medicine on Day 2)
Professor Jihong Wang (王吉红教授): Vice-President for Finance of ABCP; Professor of Electrical Power & Control Engineering, University of Warwick (Finance Chair)
Professor Hongbiao Dong (董洪标教授): Vice-President for Industrial Liaison & Fund Raising of ABCP; Professor of Materials Engineering & Research Chair of Royal Academy of Engineering, University of Leicester (Sponsorships Chair; Chair of Advanced Manufacturing Track)
Professor Shujun Li (李树钧教授): Vice-President for Internal Communications & Public Relations of ABCP; Professor of Cyber Security, University of Kent (Chair of UK-China Collaboration Track)
Professor Yulong Ding (丁玉龙教授) FREng: Chamberlain Chair of Chemical Engineering & Highview-RAEng Chair of Cryogenic Energy Storage, University of Birmingham
Professor Yaochu Jin (金耀初教授): Distinguished Chair, University of Surrey (Chair of Artificial Intelligence Track)
Professor Xiao-Ping Zhang (张小平教授): Chair in Electrical Power Systems, University of Birmingham (Chair of Energy Track)
Professor Zhibing Zhang (张志兵教授) FREng: Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Birmingham
Professor Jian Ren Lu (吕建仁教授): University of Manchester
Dr Wen Wang (汪文博士): Reader in Human Resource Management and Employment Relations, University of Wolverhampton (Chair of Ageing Society and Sustainability Track)